6 comments on “RPG Rabbit Can Now Play DDR Every Day Forever

  1. Just happened on this page when searching for “hard ddr pad” . Fun read! Not sure how you manage to do freakin IN THE GROOVE on soft pads! Slips ahoy! Even hard pads are dicey. And .. yea.. the pads at my local arcade are trashed as well. Maybe fixed soon ??

    • In the Groove is tricky indeed on a soft pad. I can’t get above 7 difficulty on the soft pads. I’m trying to save up money to get one of these babies:

      http://www.precisiondancepads.com/index.php?id_product=8&controller=product&id_lang=1#/control_box-usb_pc_mac_for_stepmania/skin-ddr_ac

      This will up my game considerably, I think.

      The local arcade simply got rid of the DDR machine all together. I still haven’t forgiven them for this travesty. At this point, I know of only five DDR machines in the entire state of Oregon, and the closest one to me is an hour away. Sigh.

      • Did you ever get one of these? I’ve been looking into getting one, but I need it for PS2. I’m not sure how well it works for the old system. I’ve emailed the company and no response. I even messaged them over Facebook- no response 😦 I DID manage to find a used RedOctane mat though! It’s just like my old one I had back in 2006

      • I ordered one of these fancy Precision Dance Pads back in December, but they’re a home operation, and they had a fire in early December! That’s backed things up considerably, so I’m still waiting. I suspect it will be worth the wait, as I have heard nothing but good things about this company. As soon as I get my pad, I will most certainly write a post about it.

        I’m always on the lookout for a good deal on used Red Octane mats, but I’ve become so disillusioned with soft pads in general! The last three I’ve purchased, used or new, have started misfiring within a matter of days or weeks.

        The pad I purchased from Precision (an Omega 4X) DOES have both PS2 and multi-console control box options. I ordered a multi-console (PS2/Xbox/GameCube/USB), since I use my PS2 copy of In the Groove about as much as Stepmania, so I will definitely be trying it with both to see how it works out. Hopefully the pad gets here in a month or two!

  2. That looks like a top notch pad – better than the other metal pads I had looked into. In particular the other ones even admit their sensors only cover a portion of their buttons.. This one claims full size on the pads – like on the arcade.. Worth saving up for it. I remember RedOctane – they were in a warehouse several miles from my home before they got acquired.

Leave a Reply

