10 comments on “RPG Rabbit Has Some Choice Words to Offer About Kingsglaive

  1. I really like games with interesting, complex female characters, and I don’t know why the writers of FF15 seemed to think that it would be a good idea to leave them out this time.

    I’m not excited about FF15 just because I hated FF13, and I don’t see any indication that this game will be any better.

    • In some ways, I get where they’re trying to come from. I could see why a “bros on a road trip” story could be really compelling. I’d still be annoyed, because I like female characters in my games, but I do think that this is a preference.

      Where it enters the realm of upsetting, though, is the lack of playable female characters married to the stereotypical presentation of the few female NPC characters. The WEIRDLY few female NPC characters. Perhaps women were too hard to animate?

  2. I just wanted to say that was a great post. I’m a fairly stereotypical thirty-something white male gamer, and I’m ashamed to say that gender imbalance just doesn’t even occur to me most of the time. If it wasn’t for this post, I would have happily watched Kingsglaive and played through XV without even noticing it. However, I have a 4-year old daughter who’s completely wild and willful and wonderful, and I don’t want her growing up in a world that thinks she should be cowed and meek and subservient. You’re right that you shouldn’t have to write these posts, and I shouldn’t need to be reminded that gender imbalance is still a really big thing, but I’m very glad that you did write it. Thank you.

    • Wow, thanks. I really appreciate this feedback!

      While I think (with the sober judgement of a few days to sit on it) that in some ways my language was perhaps needlessly hyperbolic, it was a good snapshot of my feelings at the time, and I’ve seen even angrier nerd posts about the spelling of Aerith’s name, so I don’t feel too bad.

      However, I think that I’d like to start to write some more posts that highlight some of the positive depictions of lady-type humans in games, because I do think in some ways that might be more useful.

      It is my sincere belief that once your daughter reaches my age, there will be a much more equitable balance of not only gender representation in games, but also racial and sexual identity representation.

  3. The whole “more sincere and honest” statement sounds to me like something a Japanese producer would say to save face in front of the hardcore gamerbros (see a certain online terrorist/hategroup-that-shall-not-be-named). Everything about FFXV’s party screams boyband/fujoshi fuel to me. There’s no way the folks at Square Enix could not know about the large number of female fans the FF franchise has.

    • And you know, I haven’t played the game yet, so maybe it’s full of female-gaze fanservice. Maybe I get to see cute bros with their shirts off, which is something I can get behind. I mean, I already know from playing the demo and from reading the Kotaku review that Cindy the “personalityless mechanic who dresses like a stripper” shows up a lot to provide the fanservice for the men. All I really want as a female gamer is some non-offensive representation of my gender, or barring that, some equal-opportunity fanservice. I fear that FFXV will provide me with neither of those things, though it might still be a good game.

Leave a Reply

